BRAIS is supported by an elected Council which includes BRAIS Officers.

The current BRAIS Council Members are: 


Dr Omar Anchassi, University of Edinburgh

Dr Usaama al-Azami, University of Oxford

Dr Ali-Reza Bhojani, University of Nottingham and Al-Mahdi Institute, Birmingham

Dr Fozia Bora, University of Leeds

Dr Feriel Bouhafa, University of Cambridge

Dr Sariya Cheruvallil-Contractor, Coventry University

Professor Robert Gleave, University of Exeter

Dr Jon Hoover, University of Nottingham

Dr Carool Kersten, King’s College London

Professor Seán McLoughlin, University of Leeds

Dr Shuruq Naguib, Lancaster University

Professor Judith Pfeiffer, University of Oxford

Professor Oliver Scharbrodt, University of Birmingham

Dr Ayman Shihadeh, SOAS, University of London


The following three members have been co-opted to the Council:

Professor Frédéric Volpi, University of Edinburgh (representing the Edinburgh Alwaleed Centre as its Director)

Dr Hilary Kalmbach, University of Sussex (representing the British Society for Middle Eastern Studies)

Professor Alison Scott-Baumann, SOAS, University of London (representing the Muslims in Britain Research Network)